A Jean Monnet Chair is a teaching post with a specialisation in European Union studies for university professors. It can only be held by one professor, who must provide the minimum of 90 teaching hours per academic year over a period of three consecutive years.


Professor Martin Holland, University of Canterbury,  holds the only Jean Monnet Chair ad personam in New Zealand. Ad personam Chairs are reserved for distinguished Jean Monnet Chairs who deliver evidence of a high-level international teaching and publication record.




Dr Milenko Petrovic was awarded a Jean Monnet chair in 2017.

The EU and the Balkans at the End of the Second Decade of the 21st Century
An International Conference, University of the Peloponnese, Corinth, Greece 4-5 June 2018



Past Jean Monnet Chairs

Promoting External Action: EU Development, Diplomacy and Partnership in the Asia Pacific, Professor Martin Holland, University of Canterbury

The EU, Its Cultures and Identities: The Meanings of Europe Inside and Outside its Borders, Dr Natalia Chaban, University of Canterbury


Leave a Reply